Buy, Borrow or Digital?

I get books from all sorts of resources.  Sometimes I buy new, used, ebook or check out from the library.  This got me thinking about why I do each, and what is the deciding factor for others.

Some are a no brainier, like $.99 ebook sale or coming across that TBR wishlist read in great condition at a second hand store.  Which I’m sure you all agree that you do the same!  Other books are more complicated as to where I get the book.

Buy

I have my auto buy authors: Stephen King, Kate Morton, Kristin Hannah to name the big ones.  I’ll buy books that are part of a series I love, like Outlander and I’m starting to collect the shadow hunters books, even though I’ve yet to start them.  image

There are other books that just seem special, and I think I will absolutely fall in love so it just makes sense to purchase a copy.

Borrow

While I would obviously love to own every book I read, the wallet doesn’t agree with me.  I’ll borrow books if I’m unsure if I will like it.  I’ll also borrow the “random” books that I come across that I want to read.  The books that aren’t well known so there’s no telling if it will be stellar or not.  I will also always borrow the read in a day type books.  Mostly YA, where I know the story will be good but not amazing enough where I will read again and again.

Ebook

The only time I’ll ever buy an Ebook is if there is a big $1.99 or $.99 sale or I have an iTunes gift card.  I don’t care for them much.  I don’t mind getting some ebooks from the library.  I do read them faster then physical books, but for me, they are not a replacement for the real thing.  I also can’t get behind the idea of spending a bunch of money for an ebook, when the physical copy that you can hold is only a few dollars more.  That just doesn’t make sense to me, but then again I like stuff and having books all around.

How about you?  What makes you decide to buy, borrow or go digital?

Leave a comment