All the Breaking Waves

All the Breaking Waves

By Kerry Lonsdale 

322 pages

December 2016

Contemporary women’s literature. Magical realism.

” After a harrowing accident tore her family apart, Molly Brennan fled from the man she loved and the tragic mistake she made.

Twelve years later, Molly has created a new life for herself and her eight-year-old daughter, Cassie. The art history professor crafts jewelry as unique and weathered as the surf-tumbled sea glass she collects, while raising her daughter in a safe and loving environment—something Molly never had. But when Cassie is plagued by horrific visions and debilitating nightmares, Molly is forced to return to the one place she swore she’d never move back to—home to Pacific Grove.

A riveting exploration of love, secrets, and motherhood, All the Breaking Waves is the poignant story of a woman who discovers she must confront her past, let go of her guilt, and summon everything in her power to save her daughter.” Goodreads Synopsis 

As someone who has always enjoyed magical realism stories, I throughly liked this one.  This genre is not for everyone, as it is so different than fantasy. Reading a fantasy novel, you know what you’re getting into.mmts grand and far fetchetched and an escape from the world as we know it.  In magical realism, its unexpected and small detail that is embedded in a very life like drama.  Kerry Lonsdale has done a beautiful job of weaving some magic into her drama filled story.  Fans of Sarah Adrian Allen should also try out Kerry Lonsdale.

🌟🌟🌟🌟

The Couple Next Door: A Review 

The Couple Next Door

By Shari Lapena

308 pages

August 2016

Mystery. Thriller. Suspense.
“You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.

Your neighbour told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.

Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.

You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.

What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?Goodreads synopsis
The Couple Next Door had my engaged from page one.  There wasn’t a lot of introductory setup and filler.  It was filled with twists and turns where the reader is left guessing, assuming and solving the mystery.  A lot of times psychological thrillers can leave you with a dejavu feeling, knowing this story has been done before. I never felt that way reading The Couple Next Door.  Fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train will really enjoy this one too. 
🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

Say Goodbye For Now: a review


Say Goodbye For Now 

by Catherine Ryan Hyde

366 pages

Lake Union Publishing. December 2016

Historical Fiction

“On an isolated Texas ranch, Dr. Lucy cares for abandoned animals. The solitude allows her to avoid the people and places that remind her of the past. Not that any of the townsfolk care. In 1959, no one is interested in a woman doctor. Nor are they welcoming Calvin and Justin Bell, a newly arrived African American father and son.

When Pete Solomon, a neglected twelve-year-old boy, and Justin bring a wounded wolf-dog hybrid to Dr. Lucy, the outcasts soon find refuge in one another. Lucy never thought she’d make connections again, never mind fall in love. Pete never imagined he’d find friends as loyal as Justin and the dog. But these four people aren’t allowed to be friends, much less a family, when the whole town turns violently against them

With heavy hearts, Dr. Lucy and Pete say goodbye to Calvin and Justin. But through the years they keep hope alive…waiting for the world to catch up with them.” Goodreads Synopsis  
This book is one full of raw human emotions, taking place in the 1950 and 1960s, yet is still very relevant today.  Pete and Justin make the perfect childhood best friends, and if only they weren’t black and white they would have a much easier time being able to be friends.  I love their childlike innocence and how  it doesn’t stop their friendship.

The other side of the story is the forbidden romance between Justin’s father and the no longer working doctor who ties these peoples lives together.  They deal with the adult world while dealing with racial issues.  

And most importantly, the dog that Pete finds wounded on the road that brings him to the doctor.  What a fantastic creature!  

Say Goodbye For Now is a well thought out story line and would be perfect for anyone who likes historical fiction, or feel good stories with drama.  

I gave it 🌟🌟🌟🌟💫

Thank you to Booksparks for sending me a copy to review as part of their blog hop.

A List of Cages: a Review

A List of Cages  by Robin Roe

320 pages 

January 2017

Disney-Hyperion 

Young Adult

When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his senior year, serving as an aide to the school psychologist, he thinks he’s got it made. Sure, it means a lot of sitting around, which isn’t easy for a guy with ADHD, but he can’t complain, since he gets to spend the period texting all his friends. Then the doctor asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her, and Adam discovers that the boy is Julian–the foster brother he hasn’t seen in five years.

Adam is ecstatic to be reunited. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He’s still kind hearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what’s really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives. Goodreads synopsis
This.  This is what good young adult novels are made of.  It was raw, real and heartbreakingly good.

The first half reads like a lot of ya books: high school, finding who you are and what group you belong to, crushes and first loves.  Although, for Julian high school isn’t like that. He’s immature, and has a very unfortunate childhood.  His parents died and he lives with his uncle who mistreats him.

The second half of the book takes a giant, heartbreaking turn.  It was so well written.  With the more difficult subject matter, I would recommend this book to older teens.  

🌟🌟🌟🌟💫